Prize for Contemporary Architecture

European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture

What is it

The European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture is a biennial award to recognise and reward excellent examples of architectural works, and is complemented by the Emerging Architect award, awarded to a single architectural work.

The €60,000 Prize and €20,000 Emerging Architect award are awarded to single works demonstrating excellence in conceptual, technical, and constructive terms. Both works additionally receive a sculpture evoking the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

What is it for?

The Prize aims to raise awareness of excellence in the field of architecture, drawing attention to the contributions of European professionals in the development of new architectural concepts, techniques, and technologies.

It is managed jointly by the European Commission in cooperation with the Mies van der Rohe Foundation, which is based in Barcelona and supported by a network of 15 architecture institutions, as well as a committee of experts from 31 countries.

Where can I find out more?

More information on the Prize and Emerging Architect award, including past winners, can be found on the website of the prize.


Photo: Shutterstock

Source: article European Commission

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :